PDA

View Full Version : Turbo?

RWSBIRD
11-13-2006, 11:08 PM
My friend has a '92-'95 Civic DX 5-speed with the 1.6L SOHC (I think it's a D16A something like that) anyway we did some bolt on mods (air filter, exhaust) but he really wants to put a turbo on it. I was wondering what size turbo would work the best on a mostly stock engine. The budget doesn't allow for a kit so we'll probably have to find a turbo and fab the rest of the tubing. He plans on getting a header so that might help. I'm not a Honda expert so any help on the subject is much appreciated. Thanks.

Stro
11-14-2006, 07:06 AM
Im doing something along those lines this winter. Right now in my car is a stock d16y8, im going to be swaping in an A6 block that will be built for boost. But as far as a turbo, im getting a complete setup from a good friend of mine t3 (correct me if im wrong anybody) with a different compressor housing on it. As far as my research has got me either a t3/t4 turbo or a t25 off say a 1st gen dsm. And on a side note if you go t25 dsm turbo it won't be for show, they tend to look kind of ugly, but as performance goes there money.

Although I must caution you and your friend about keeping stock internals, i'll post pics soon on my setup and you can take a look, but stock pistons are pencils compared to built rods. In my opinion (you don't have to take my word for it) with stock internals I wouldn't run over 7 or 8 psi. Im building my block to hold 20psi and run 10 to 12 MAYBE.

If you have anymore questions i'd be glad to help out a fellow D blocker. lol.

Ricky
11-14-2006, 10:50 AM
stro is right, do not go over 9psi MAX i had a friend that ran 9psi for a while and the rod cumbled and broke into so many peices.

TbTalon94
11-14-2006, 12:24 PM
that rod did look like a pencil. I thought it was from a motorcycle at first!

Drifte
11-14-2006, 01:05 PM