PDA

View Full Version : Annoying Engine Miss- Dodge Stealth

DeltaDart
10-27-2006, 11:16 AM
I'm new to Cedar Rapids and was told about this site. Great site. I own a 1992 Dodge Stealth R/T with the 3.0L DOHC non-turbo. It's a 5speed with 138,000 miles. The car has a miss to it and I simply can't find a fix for it. I will describe the miss.
When the car is at idle you can hear a very "slight" miss. When you run it through the gears the engine feels like it's "bogging" down. When you take it slow through the gears the bogging down is not as noticeable but it's still there. The miss it at it's worse when you are going 30mph and you try to maintain that speed. When doing this the engine will buck back and forth. The car starts fine and it idles well. I have done the following to the engine to try and fix the problem- New plugs and new plug wires. New O2 sensor.New fuel filter.
Sent the injectors in to have them tested and rebuilt. Test showed they were in good shape to begin with. I had another engine and I swapped the following parts: CAS sensor-The 3 coil packs-Fuel regulator-TPS sensor-VIC motor. Have done test's with a multimeter and everything(TPS-VIC-IA-IAC)checks out. I pulled the fault codes and there were none. CEL has never come on. It's not burned out.
I'm thinking of buying a MAF sensor but have been told that if the MAF sensor is bad it will throw a CEL. Since there is no CEL i'm assuming the MAF sensor is good. This I could be wrong on. But everything that I have read about the MAF sensor says it will trip the CEL. Is this true? In the past I've had 02 sensors go out(92&95 Dodge Spirit)and neither one of them tripped the O2 sensor.