PDA

View Full Version : Damn the man!

DragonUSMC
01-23-2006, 01:53 PM
OK I’m at work and need to vent so you guys get to listen =)

So I’m going through getting my competitions lined up for the remainder of the season for snowboarding. And I keep running into 2 major event holders…. USASA (USA Snowboard Assoc.) and then the Iowa Games on top of them even.

They have these rules… one of them being no inverted tricks allowed. Now USASA will allow it with a signed waiver. But the other is the requirement of a helmet. Now I understand that they are concerned of the safety of the athletes but seriously… I’m 26, I’ve been shot at and blown up, I’ve been snowboarding for over 16 years and pro for over 8. I think I’m a big boy now and can make my own decisions on if I want to wear a helmet or not.

Honestly I throw inverted tricks now-a-days like I’m putting on my shoes. There really isn’t much thought process or anything anymore to it. But I know that maybe when I first started out that wearing a helmet might have been a good idea… maybe would have cut back on my 14 concussions that I have had.

But still now they are simply judging on if one person throws a 540, and one person throws a 720, the guy who threw the 7 would win! But why? I throw 5’s, 7’s, 9’s and honestly I can say the stupid fast 7’s and 9’s that people throw out here in the Midwest are done… they look like crap and the person simply looks like a blurry top, how is that stylie? I can make a 5 corked out, smooth, and clean, and some douche is going to throw a sloppy 7 and beat me… common that’s ridiculous! I’ve thrown more 7s and 9s then this kid has even THOUGHT of… but I choose not to because it takes more skill to do what im doing. On top of that all I would have to do is throw a couple of my Misty flips, Rodeos, or shit even a simple fucking front flip and cause the entire crowd to go “ooooooooooohhh Aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh!” but no… can’t do that, that would be against the rules.