PDA

View Full Version : Chumpcar team

ashanson
11-27-2013, 04:09 PM
Anybody here part of a chumpcar team in the Des Moines area that wants an extra person? I am a decent driver and have experience wrenching on a few types of cars. Or if you just need an extra driver for an event I'm willing to do that as well. Very interested in getting involved in this, wanting more seat time than a few HPDE events a year in my own car.

-Andrew

sparkles
11-27-2013, 05:29 PM
I've seriously considered putting together a team, but I can't get enough people that actually ACTUALLY have the means to do it.

ashanson
11-27-2013, 06:06 PM
After talking with various friends in Minnesota who are on a couple teams, I think the easiest route would be to buy a chumpcar that is already mostly setup (~3k). I don't have fab skills to make a roll cage or anything, so getting that type of work out of the way seems like a good idea. The amount of time to build one is crazy.

But anyway, I would definitely be in. I figure probably $1k per person in the car investment, $500 in gear I will need, and then the recurring fees per race for tires/brakes/gas which is probably in the $500 range. Not cheap, but hours and hours of seat time, and wheel to wheel which is the best part.

The other tricky thing is finding a place to store it and work on it.

sparkles
11-27-2013, 06:42 PM
I can hack all of the money stuff of it. I have a problem currently with the last part.

allgo
11-27-2013, 07:32 PM
what is this? never heard of it

ashanson
11-27-2013, 07:42 PM
chumpcar.com
Basically it's real road course racing where you can pass wherever you want (unlike HPDE), sometimes there are endurance events, sometimes two day events, etc. And you're limited to a cheap car, there are a bunch of rules on what is allowed for mods and such to keep the competition fair.

sparkles
11-27-2013, 09:09 PM
Ever heard of 24 hour of Lemons?

ashanson
11-28-2013, 12:59 AM