PDA

View Full Version : I have a question...

sLoWnStEaDy
05-12-2011, 02:04 PM
I have been looking into going MPFI on the conquest. I was talking to a buddy the other day and he had an idea that made a little bit of sense, sounded really cheap and easy so I am wandering why it won't work...

Basically, people have used a stock intake and just added fuel injector bungs to the top or bottom of the intake and ran megasquirt. His idea was to keep the primary/secondary along with all the factory wiring and going MPFI. We bounced it around a little bit but I have very little experience in this area.

ANYWHO, idea would be to run a set of 450cc injectors on the top as primaries and a set of 750cc injectors on the bottom for secondaries. He/we were thinking the factory fuel injector connectors just provide a signal to the fuel injector so we could basically just "splice" four fuel injector pig tails together and connect them to the "primary" fuel injector wires. Do the same with the secondaries...

My problem with this "theory" is that it is simple and cheap so I am sure it won't work. Whatcha think?

sLoWnStEaDy
05-12-2011, 02:11 PM
here is an example of top/bottom mounted injectors on a stock intake. Doesn't look great but the stock TBI setup has been proven up to 400+ and the MPFI using stock intake has been proven to like 600+...

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/9211/mpfiintake.png (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/222/mpfiintake.png/)

Drifte
05-12-2011, 02:37 PM
So theres a factory MPFI on the Starion, but you have the TBI version? The MPFI version I would imagine does not use primaries or secondaries but all 4 matched injectors. How your TBI computer/injector driver would handle the change idk.

SLVR7
05-12-2011, 05:00 PM
It would make it a batch fire system then, might as well keep the tbi at that point. You would also need an injector driver box, or it will probably overload your tbi injector driver in the ecu.

sLoWnStEaDy
05-12-2011, 06:57 PM