PDA

View Full Version : WTB Mountain Bike

n8kerns
05-28-2010, 11:33 PM
My girlfriend has been bugging me to get a bike to go riding. I've been keeping my eye out on craigslist and been hitting up bike shops but I figured I'd check here too see if anybody has one.

Looking to spend around 350 give or take, if the deal is good enough I may be able to make more, cheaper always works too. I'm looking for a Trek, Specialized or maybe any other non-department store brand. I went to a Trek dealer the other day and tried out a few bikes, I am looking for something close to a 16" frame.

I am new to the whole "nice" bike scene, haven't ridden a bike since 8th grade and have always had wal-mart bikes (Mongoose). So I'm open to any buying and bicycling tips also. =)

Thanks

Drifte
05-29-2010, 10:22 AM
I know of a small framed cannondale for sale. He was asking $400 for it. If I sold my Trek (bruiser 3) I'd do it for $500, also a small frame (14.5") but it's a little different in its sizing and has a bar extension.

Most of Scheels bikes start at $500, but they sometimes have a cheaper model.

n8kerns
05-29-2010, 10:31 AM
I think a full suspension is a little out of my league, as much as I'd like one I don't think its necessary =P. Do you have more information on the Cannondale?

I went to scheels and was pretty surprised at the prices on their bikes. A Trek 3700 there is right around $350. Europa in CF was a little more expensive but I think that is to be expected with a smaller company. I will be going to Bike Tech today, they deal with Specialized. It seems to be that I can either get a lesser model new bike or a higher model used bike.

Edit: Just got back from scheels, Trek 3700 for $299. Depending on what Cannondale your friend has I may be getting that Trek.

Drifte
05-29-2010, 10:12 PM