PDA

View Full Version : What I do for a Living...

Jappbox
03-18-2009, 04:18 PM
Some of you might wonder were i get money, or that I get it "from my dad" well to you that dont know me very well, Here is my post to maybe earn some of your respect. I have worked very hard my whole life, being the 3rd generation carpenter, since I could walk I have had a hammer in my hand doing new construction, remodels, cement work, roofing, plumbing, even some electrical. and for the last 6 years I have been full time doing Weatherization. Yes I work with my dad as he was not only my dad, but the best teacher.

So what is weatherization??

Anything do do with heat/cooling loss in a house.

Windows
doors
weatherstriping
cracks in foudation
attic insulation
Wall insulation
Crawl spaces

Whats my job??

I work for Governmen Funded Agencies that help the low income that qualify for assistance to help with heat/cooling bills.

My part is to go and do work order and weatherize the home. After witch gets a final inspection, and possibly a State inspection.

Funded Agencies?

Some of you might know the Cedar Rapids agency known as "HACAP" or "hawkye area comunity action program" thats one of about 12 agencies across the state. Each Agency does so many "countys" Last year We did jobs for 5 agencie across the state. including:

Cedar rapids
Waterloo
Lemars/sioux city
Davenport
Desmoines

In six years we have had only 1 state falled inspection. No other contractor has that few.

here is link to the Iowa Weatherization program and a little info on how many homes were done, Every home done saves energy!!! making the world Greener as they say!

http://apps1.eere.energy.gov/weatheriza ... te_abbr=IA (http://apps1.eere.energy.gov/weatherization/state_activities_detail.cfm/state_abbr=IA)

96-eclipse-gst
03-18-2009, 07:13 PM